Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The author of the issue contends that there are some people who may hold the view that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when selecting a field of study. On the other hand, there are some other people who take the opposite view point and believe that college students should choose a field of study based on the availability of jobs in that field. In what follows, the main reasons posited by both groups are first discussed and then my own position will be delineated.

Those people who argue that college students should give priority to their talents and interests when choosing a field of study, seem to have one plausible reason for their position. The reason is that talents and interests are among the most crucial factors for students to be successful in the particular field of study. In fact, if students are interested in their field of study, they will have a great motivation for being successful and achieving their goals. Therefore, they will do their best and they will try hard to be successful in that particular major of study. Consequently, they will reach at the highest point in their position.

As was stated already, there are some others who believe that considering the availability of jobs should be the most important factor for college students when they choose a field of study. These people seem to have one chief reason to support their claim. Their reason is that these days finding decent and lucrative jobs are very difficult. As a matter of fact, students' main purpose for attending college is to be prepared in order to get a lucrative job in future. Thus, if they cannot find appropriate jobs after graduation, they will be so depressed and disappointed and they will lose their self-confidence.

I should say that this is the first claim with which I generally concur. First of all, from my point of view, the reasons on which the first group relies to support their position are sensible and logical. Furthermore, I have one more reason which makes me to believe that the first claim is true. From my point of view, students who are the best in their field of study, would not have any problem in finding lucrative jobs. Indeed, students who have talents and are interested in their fields of study certainly will be successful and will reach the apex of their major. Hence, they should not be concerned about finding lucrative jobs. Since, all the companies in the country are willing to hire them as the best and the most knowledgeable person in that particular field.