1. Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The author of the prompt asserts that there are two different perspectives toward the duty of politics. One school believes that politics should chase the ideal; on the other hand, another group emphasizes the importance of finding the common platform which is responsible for the majority’s demand. In what follows, I will list the possible rearing reasons for both categories and finally, I will posit my standpoint.

The first school, which asks for the pursuit of a goal, may have bolded the effect of the following an ideal in achieving the success. Indeed, according to the ideal-seeking nature of the human being, possessing an ultimate desire can be motivation for reaching a high-stand. This motor will be more effective if it owns the politics rearing. For instance, if the governor solo adherences the scientific achievements and provides a full-support ground for the scientific efforts, all people in the field of science will be eager to follow their creative thoughts and achieve a striking finding which could be applauded by the governor. Consequently, that specific society will be significant in the field of science among other societies. However, in this scenario, the ignorance of other areas is questionable?

On the other hand, as mentioned, there is another group which thinks the common ground according to majority approval should be the main duty of politics. This school has considered the existence of multi-parties in a specific politic. Each party will have its own beliefs and rules which could differ from others’. In this case, providing the joint scene for the majority will be mostly aligned with the fair government. In addition, this technique will increase the popularity of that governor since he could appeal to the majority of parties.

If I have to choose a side, the second group is the one with which I mostly concur. First of all, the discussed reason by this group is reasonable and plausible. Besides, I have one more reason for my viewpoint. The trend of modern politics is a democracy. The fundament of democracy is being responsible to the majority of people in a society. Since each individual has his or her specific desire, providing a public base which could appeal the most of the people’s requirement, the aim of the democracy will be done. Therefore, the politics by providing this common ground will fit into the democracy framework.

To wrap it up, although seeking an ideal will guarantees the achievement of significant achievements; the common base is more aligned with the democracy standard, are more beneficial for the majority of citizens.