Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Although science and technology will continue to improve, the most significant improvements for the quality of people’s lives have already taken place.

The quality of people’s lives is almost among the most important desires of the human being. Science and technology have had a profound impact on individuals’ lives through making advances. Although many pitfalls have been eliminated from our lives during the last centuries, owing to major advancements and many diseases have been eradicated, thanks to science achievements, we never can consider them sufficient for our quality of lives. I hold this idea for two essential reasons which I will elaborate on in the following essay.

First of all, like many other concepts, significance of improvements and their sufficiency do not feature in mere notions and absolute meanings and they have relative values. This issue finds its meaning in comparison to others. Human needs and requirements are constantly changing and promoting, thus there is no end in sight for this trend of human being. For instance, diseases and ailments, some of which have been eradicated are still very much of an issue due to our desires to expand human’s life expectancy. Other needs, such as routine’s welfares have always been changed too. Not only are we dissatisfied with science and technology’s accomplishments in this scope, but we are also seeking more possibilities for minor drawbacks to provide everyone, even people with exceptional problems, with more facilities. For example, disabled people had once been neglected in their presence in society. Although some progresses are made for this reason, they are undermined in many aspects and still need to be considered for more technologies. A small number of these handicapped people need special vehicles which we do have now. Since these people or other aforementioned patients are part of the society, there are still many tasks which should be done to alleviate their suffering.

Secondly, new need itself causes more necessities. As a special procedure is invented or new technological devices are devised, the need of subsidiary requirements to make the most out of them comes to our minds. Neither consumers nor manufactures can imagine a fast car without safety equipment, therefore a remarkable advancement in capability of cars in merely velocity is not a complete achievement. Another example is the challenge of striking a right balance between communication devices and their convenience or safety again. In this case, we are all aware of the intense competition between phone companies to present a cutting-edge mobile to us, while we also need some other gears such as smart watches, earphones and so on to hook up to our cellphones too.

To sum up, this claim which we have already accessed the most necessary technological advancements for the quality of our lives does not look valid since necessity is an ever-changing concept in human’s life and every new achievement creates a new requirement for the future.