Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of technology, it is more and more convenient for us to contact with others by telecommunication equipment. As a result, there is more possibility for us to acquaint new people and establish relationship with them. However, how to maintain a good friendship is always under heated discussion. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with the statement that telling the truth is the most important consideration when it comes to interpersonal relationship. Personally, I believe there are many other factors which contribute to valuable relationship.

To begin with, although telling the truth does play an important role in friendship between people, it sometimes hurts others and may even separates close friends apart. Taking myself for example, I used to believe honesty and trust are the fundamental concerning relationship but later changed my mind. When I was in primary school, I made a huge mistake and ruined a relationship with my best friend. Mary, a lovely girl with blonde hair and beautiful face, was my best friend at that time. Despite she had a gorgeous appearance and she was always willing to offer help whenever i was in trouble, my mother did not like her because her grades was not as good as mine. I was told to stay away from her and it bothered me a lot. Finally, I could not stand it any longer and shared my concern with her. She was heart broken about the truth that her best friend's mother hated her and chose to stay away from me since then. This experience gives me a life-long lesson. If I could be back to that year, I would had hold the truth and never revealed it to Mary.

Secondly, i believe there are many other characteristics that a man will expect from his/her friend, shared interest and common experience, for example. Only when people have linked interest, can they begin a topic, have further communications and eventually become good friends. Otherwise, they will never have chance to know each other and discover the charming sides of his/her counterparts. I used to ask my mother why she chooses Cici, her friend since a very young age, as her best friend. My mother said that they came across each other at the age of seven on a chorus and found out that both of them had passion for singing. At hearing they shared mutual interest, my mother grew interested in Aunt Cici immediately and tried to find out more about her. Later, she realized that Cici is not only an optimistic person but also ambitious about life, just the same as her. It is due to their commonalities that my mother cherishes this relationship for all these years.

Lastly, besides holding the same interest and common topic, being a considerate person is also essential in relationship. Nobody would like a friend who only takes care of himself and never pays attention to his/her friend's command? This is true not only between friends, but also for husband and wife. Yang Jiang and Qian Zhongshu, a household couple in China, is an example for point. They are both established people in Chinese literacy and have tons of work to deal with everyday. Being considerate partners, they both sit in others’ shoes and try their best to satisfy others’ demand. When Qian was faced with deadline to hand in writing script, Yang would should the burden of family chores and so did Qian. As a consequence, they did not get tired of tedious work and life, but grew more and more passionate about life journey with each other.

Concerning my own experience, my mother’s life-long friendship with Aunt Cici and story of happy couple Yang and Qian, I firmly disagree with the idea that telling the truth is the most key factor of a relationship.