Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of education, children nowadays are exposed of numerous knowledge since a very young age. Recently, whether a kid should manage money in his/her childhood in order to nurture him/her to be responsible is under heated discussion. Personally, i disagree with the idea mainly because of the following reasons.

To begin with, children are likely to adopt bad habits instead of being responsible if they are allowed to hold a large quantities of money at a very young age. It is human's instinct to chase for extravagent objects and live a comfortable life. Without much education, a toddler may spend money on things which are not necessary, toys at a sky-high price, for example. Besides, they may even compete with others to spend more money out of jealousy. Take my cousin for example, he was given a comparatively large amount of money since he was at primary school. Instead of managing the money, he spent it on video games and indulged himself in virtual world. At last, he lost interest in studying instead of becoming responsible, which was adverse to his parents' expectation.

Secondly, a family may suffer from financial loss if its kids are granted a large sum of money because the society is so complicated nowadays. The last few decades has witnessed rapid development of financial markets. There are countless kinds of products such as bonds, stocks, options, derivatives, etc. emerging in front of customers. Even well-educated adults may fall into traps set by financial frauds, leaving alone juvenile teenagers. A recent news is an example to the point. It is reported that an adolescent who was going to be university student after the summer vacation was cheated out of tuition by a telephone call. Unfortunately, the victim was so ashamed that she committed a suicide. If she was never given the money, this tragedy could never have happened.

Last but not least, there are many alternative ways to bring up a child to be responsible adult, reading books, taking outdoor exercises or practicing an instrument for example. Taking myself for example, I become a responsible adult because my parents asked me to read many biographies since I was in kindergarten. Stories of Mary Curry, Elbert Einstein and Steve Hoking, etc. inspire me a lot. They not only teach me to be responsible for my own sake, but also carry the duty of the whole human-kind.

Taking all reasons above including addicted to bad habits, cause financial loss and alternative ways into consideration, I am strongly against the statement that children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.