Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to the development of a students, teachers are definitely the ones who have the most vital influence. Not only the knowledge they impart assists students get employed in the labor market, but also the brilliant qualities they demonstrate benefit the younger generation in the long run. Therefore, it is never too much to show respect for our mentors. However, whether they are less appreciated nowadays is under heated discussion recently. Personally, I firmly hold teachers are more admired in contemporary society through versatile methods.

To begin with, someone who believe more appreciation was given to teachers in ancient times claim that there are countless old stories where students show admiration to their teachers. Admittedly, the deeds described in the folktales are touching. However, nobody can assure the accuracy of those stories. What is more, even though they are authentic, only good values will be recorded by historians while the evil ones will disappear as time goes by. Therefore, there is selection bias and the argument that teachers are more appreciated before are indefensible.

In addition, despite there are quantities of moving stories where students show appreciation for their beloved mentor nowadays, those deeds are likely to be ignored with the advancement of social media. Firstly, the public tend to be curious and pay more attention to news with evil contents. Whenever there is a student who insults or who just does not copy the instructions as his/her teacher told, he/she will be immediately covered by the press. Therefore, we are inclined to be surrounded by those bed news instead of good deeds. What is more, since the technology is so advanced that every detail from every corner of the world can be transported in front of us within a second. Thousands of coverage about the private lives of celebrities or tons of update news about politic relationship between two countries is extremely attractive. As a result, it is hard for us to pay attention to good deeds of a respective students which seem ordinary.

At last, there are various new methods to express admiration and thankfulness towards our teacher nowadays. Colorful thank-you notes are sent through email on Teacher's day, warm regards are transmitted to teachers by instant communication applications whenever a student thinks of his/her mentor. Although some students may raise different opinions with their teachers regarding a same topic, it is more improvement of equality rather than irrespective. Also, the whole society appreciate teachers more. Higher salary are paid to teachers and they can get higher credit scores in the bank.

In conclusion, I firmly hold that student respect their teachers more in contemporary age than in old days.