Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recent years have witnessed rapid development of our society, especially in technology. It seems more and more cars are needed for transportation in order to make our daily work function well. Lately, whether the increasing trend of private cars will be stopped or even turned around is under heated discussion. Personally speaking, I agree with the statement that there will be fewer cars in twenty years for the following reasons.

First of all, more people will prefer public transportation to private cars for higher working efficiency. It is reported that white-collars in New York City spend extra half an hour per day on average to transport to work because of traffic congestion. Such commute will certainly exhaust workers and thus reduce working efficiency. Just take myself for example. My office is located in the center business district in our capital city, where there are countless cars traveling across everyday. Once, I was about to be late for work and decided to take a taxi instead of underground. Unfortunately, my taxi could not move when approaching the destination because of traffic jam. It turned out that I spent more than twice as much time as before going to work. What’s more, I was dizzy the whole day, which made me lose focus on my assignments and lost part of salaries. Since then, I never go to work on private cars out of my own choice. Since workers in that district suffer from the same problem with me, I believe they will make the same decision as mine.

Secondly, more money has been being allocated to build a better transmit system by the authorities for better social welfare. Staggering improvement in public transportation has taken place not only within a city but also in inter-city level. Swifter undergrounds, light rails, underpasses and overpasses are constructed for travel convenience inside a certain area. More reliable car-pool system, magnetically - levitated trains and well-equipped airports are ready for inter-province transmit. Citizens are provided with safer and more punctual methods of transportation. Therefore, the number of people relying on cars will decrease gradually. High-speed railway in China is a perfect example to the point. Since it was put into practice in 2010, its passengers has doubled and people depending on cars has shrunk correspondingly according to China Statistic Bureau. Interviewees indicate they prefer high-speed railway to cars for its safety and punctuality.

Last but not the least, I believe there will be other forms of transportation, which exploits renewable resources, taking place of cars in the near future. Based on a recent report from NASA, over half of the glaciers in Arctic has melted due to emission of green-house gases, which further leads to three centimeters rise of sea level. And cars all around the world are chief culprit to blame. In addition, exhaust fume contains other noxious gases including nitrite oxide and sulfides, which damages ozone sphere and may cause further chain reactions across the whole ecosystem. Gradually, citizens on earth realized that concerted effort should be made to tackle environment problem. Scientists have been working overtime to invent other transmit methods, which are driven by solar, wind or nuclear energy. Besides, countless ordinary people exert themselves to cut down carbon emission as much as possible. As a result, fewer cars are predicted to be used in the following twenty years.

Taking all the reasons above including working efficiency, transportation development and environment into consideration, I strongly support the claim that there will be fewer cars in use in the following twenty years.