Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of communication methods, we are able to contact and be connected with versatile people all around the world. The number of people interacted with us has increased to an unprecedented stage and every one of them tend to have a huge impact of us. Recently, whether teachers has larger influence on us than our friends is under heated discussion. Personally, I disagree with the idea for the following reasons.

First of all, faced with fierce competitions in contemporary education system, most teachers pedagogue their students instead of cultivate them. In order to get higher scores in College Entrance Exam, quantities of homework are assigned and knowledge is force-fed to us. Compared to the old great time, students nowadays view teachers as merciless teaching machine instead of an honorable idol, from whom they can learn a lot of virtues from. My sister is a good example to the point, she felt stressful when she faced her Chinese teacher and never came back to visit her after graduation. The teacher never have any life-long impact on my sister in addition to endless fear. To be honest, it is an education tragedy and calls for a revolution in Chinese teaching system.

Secondly, friends are those we are willing to share thoughts and secrets with, and their comments may change our choices which will alter our life. When we are in our childhood, there is plenty of time for us to explore where our interest and dream lies with our close friend. Their experience and preference may directly influence our own options. My story with my best friend Alison is a perfect instance in this case. I and Alison acquainted each other in primary school, when both of us did not form values completely. However, at that time, we would hang out in a bookstore every weekends, exchanging ideas which we have beget on the books and share our comments on it. Gradually, our career goals are set and values are developed through this process. Till now, some words of Alison still linger in my mind and I'm more than grateful towards fortune to let me have this journey.

Last but not the least, good friends will grow up with us and support us in every stage of our life since we are at the same age. It is often heard that parents and kids can not withstand each other because of generation gap. Parents are so worried about some extremely adventurous thinking of their disruptive teenagers while children are so tired of their parents' nagging. Luckily, we have friend to turn to whenever we come across obstacles in life. They serve as a different roles as parents or teachers and impact us to a large extent. For instance, Steve Jobs would never have succeeded without his best friend's support when he decided to drop out of Harvard and started his own company, Apple.

To sum up, taking all the reasons above, including undigested imparting methods of modern education, common topic sharing as well as unconditional support, into consideration, I firmly hold that friends are those who influence us most.