Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of transportation, it is getting more and more convenient for people travel around the world and experience different culture. Recently, whether the best way to travel is in a group by a tour guide is under heated discussion. Admittedly, there does exist some pros of hiring a tour guide, I prefer self-conducted trip. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, hiring a tour guide not only costs extra money bust also wastes valuable trip time. As is reported by Chinese Tourist Bureau, it usually costs more than one thousand yuan hiring a guide on average in China. In addition, the guide makes advertisements about certain commodities and leads us to consume unnecessary things or services. My trip to Yunnan province is just an example to the point. I was led to a jade store and had no choice but spent two hours visiting the store. What's more, the guide would not let us continue our trip unless we bought enough amount of souvenirs. At last, I lost both wealth and time in that journey and determined that I would never have a conducted travel again.

Secondly, there are many alternative ways for us to explore a place, which are all extremely brilliant. Living in a local house through online applications such as Airbnb is a good choice. In that case, we can have deep conversation with the local host and exchange ideas about versatile cultures as well as viewing beautiful sights at that place. My trip to San Diego, California serves as a perfect instance. I spent three-day vacation with a native woman, Cathy, who gave tons of good suggestions of traveling plans and local cuisines. What's more, being a well-educated senior, she also gave me advice about my career and life. With her help, I had an unforgettable memory in SD, which I will cherish for my whole life.

Lastly, in addition to living with a local host, making detailed plans in advance and travel all by ourselves is another good option. While searching online about the destinations, we can know more about local tourist spots and lyrics. Besides, a deep understanding of its history and culture will be gained through this process. My friend, Sophie, had a trip to Beijing, the capital of China, on her own. After she came back, she introduced the construction styles, origins and history about the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, the Summer Palace, etc. to me. She could explain every detail as if she was a professional. When I asked why she knew so much only by a trip, it turned out that she had made the plan by herself and improved a lot through this procedure.

In conclusion, taking all the reasons above, including saving expenditure, having a through experience and extending our visions, I firmly disagree with the statement that the best way to travel is led by a tour guide.