Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of education, children nowadays are exposed of numerous knowledge since a very young age. Recently, whether a kid should manage money in his/her childhood to cultivate his/her responsibility is under heated discussion. Personally, I disagree with the idea mainly because of the following reasons.

To begin with, children are likely to adopt bad habits instead of being responsible if they are allowed to hold a large quantities of money at a very young age. It is human's instinct to chase for extravagance and live a more comfortable life. Without much education, a toddler may waste money on things which are not necessary, toys at a sky-high price, for example. Besides, they may even keep up with Jones concerning spending more money. Take my cousin for example, he was given a comparatively large amount of money since he was at primary school with the aim to learn financial management. However, he spent it on video games and indulged himself in virtual world. At last, he emerges in the game and does not want to shoulder the duties of a family instead of becoming responsible, which was adverse to his parents' expectation.

Secondly, life and property security of a family is likely to be damaged if its kids are granted a large sum of money because the society is so complicated nowadays. The last few decades has witnessed rapid development of financial markets. There are countless kinds of products such as bonds, stocks, options, derivatives, etc. emerging in front of customers. Even well-educated adults may not understand the cash flow of a financial product and may fall into traps set by frauds, leaving alone juvenile teenagers. A recent news is an example to the point. It is reported that an adolescent who was going to be university student after the summer vacation was cheated out of tuition by a telephone call. Unfortunately, the victim was so ashamed that she committed a suicide. If she had not been given the right to hold the tuition, this tragedy could never have happened.

Last but not least, there are many alternative ways to bring up a child to be a responsible adult, reading books, taking outdoor exercises or practicing an instrument for example. Taking myself for example, I become a responsible adult because my parents asked me to read many biographies since I was in kindergarten. Stories of Mary Curry, Elbert Einstein and Steve Hoking, etc. inspire me a lot with their charming personalities. All those great people never give up when they come across obstacles in life and are always responsible for their individual carer development. In addition, not only are they responsible for their own sake, but also carry the duties of their motherland or even the whole human race.

Taking all reasons above, including being addicted to bad habits, causing financial loss and existing alternative ways, into consideration, I am strongly against the statement that children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.