Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of society, citizens nowadays have more access to countless commodities than ever before. As a result, we tend to consume unnecessary commodities out of passion. Recently, a topic concerning whether most advertisements polish products to let them seem better is under heated discussion. Personally, I strongly agree with the statement for the following reasons.

First of all, companies in contemporary society always hire superstars to advertise for their products for more sale. It is reported that more than third of teenagers in China chase superstars and are willing to spend money on commodities related to them. Usually, the products are in poor quality but hire a celebrities to advertise for them. In that case, young adults are likely to behave insensible and waste a lot of money on it. My friend, Zoe is a good example to the point. Last year, her idol, Wan Qian, a famous Chinese actress, advertise for a brand. She watched it on the TV and found the T-shirts produced by this brand were so gorgeous on her idol and decided to order it. However, when the package was delivered to her, it turned out that the T-shirt which seemed nice had a whole on it and could not be returned. Such experience served as a life-long lesson for her and she determined not to buy anything just out of passion for a superstar.

Secondly, advertisements are the only channel for customers to feel many products since online shopping has become ubiquitous in China. Recent investigation reveals that cloth sales through websites have increased over twice in the past year and made up more than half of the market. As a result, owners of online shops exert themselves to seize every chance to advertise their products in a fabulous way. Once, I saw an interesting chair on Taobao, which is the largest online shopping platform in China. It claimed that the chair was so adapted to human body that users would feel nothing but comfortable sitting all day on it. Induced by this magic words, I bought one at a sky-high price and sent it to my mother as a present. Unfortunately, my mother later complained to me that it was just an ordinary chair, which caused her backache after a long sit on it.

Last but not least, more tools can be used to make unreal advertisement since the technology has advanced to an unprecedented stage. Software which can edit pictures are able to make images of product more appealing to patrons. Just take food advertisement for instance. Businessmen add yellow tone to videos of food on purpose in order to let them appear to be well-baked. What's more, they hire people to pretend customers waiting in line out side of their restaurant, which raise Hunger Effect for passers-by. In addition, red flags can be deleted and comments will be revised on recommend systems by products owner, which induces people to come by on their shops.

To sum up, taking all the reasons including celebrity effect, wide-spread of online shopping as well as advanced technology, into consideration, I am strongly for the claim that most advertisements make products look more captivate.