Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own

words. Do not use memorized examples.

It is inevitable for anyone in a relationship to come across a scenario where one has to decide whether to tell the truth or lie to the partner. I personally feel that it is always important to tell the truth to the partner as it plays a very important role in the longevity of one’s relationship. I feel this way for the reasons that will be illustrated in the following passage.

The first and the foremost reason why telling the truth is a crucial aspect of a relationship is it bolsters the credibility of the partner. When one tells the truth and when the partner believes that you would always tell the truth, the partner will love you wholeheartedly. Sometimes, though the immediate effects may be against our wishes, it can lead to a very healthy relationship in the long run. If you lie to the partner and when he/she comes to know that you lied, the partner will start to lose belief in you. And sometimes even if you are telling the truth, the partner might believe you based on the past experiences and this can lead to an acrimonious relationship in the end.

Second, always telling the truth is good for you and your relationship psychologically. Folks in a relationship are generally pompous about how sincere their love is. For example, one of my friends would come to me and bombast about his love. But of late, to keep his relationship afloat, he had to lie to his partner sometimes. Consequently, he would come to me and feel guilty about such incidents as I was his trusted friend. I told him to confess the misdeeds to his partner not for keeping the relationship alive but for his own good. It would liberate him from the suffering he was going through.

Finally, lying to the partner can have an adverse effect on the relationship in that when the partner finds out that you are lying, the partner can think that it is fine to lie in a relationship. Consequently, even the partner starts lying to you and both of you would be under the delusion that you love each other sincerely. But, is that a relationship? Would not trusting each other constitute a relationship? The answer is definitely no.

Thus, in a relationship, telling the truth always paves for a long and healthy relationship as it solidifies the trust in the person, it helps in maintaining a healthy mind and last but not the least, lying to the partner will be considered as wrong doing and it can help have a true relationship.