Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the world continues to develop, the mental health of myriad people have declined. Today's people virtually struggle with depression. Personally, I believe considering the pace of changes around ourselves, it is getting harder to keep up with it and this will lead to happiness deficiency in so many lives. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, nowadays everything changes in a blink of eye and nothing is stable around us. Hence, no matter how hard we try, we can not guarantee anything, and this will lead to a chaotic feeling inside us. For instance, no one can tell whether an employee will get promotion as a result of his hard work or not, since due to technological advances another person who doesn't have enough experience, but know how to use new facility might get the promotion. To avoid this situation, people must exert themselves to keep up with technology changes and this can be a harsh situation for most of the people.

Another significant reason is that the aims have also changed. In the past, most people's ultimate goal was to get a job and start a family. However, nowadays people experience an exotic thirst for integrity. It is a fact that there is always a better version of things we have, but people can not suppress their desire to get the best version of everything. Additionally, as everything is changing drastically every day, it is even harder than before to reach the zenith of everything. Repercussions of all these factors are feelings of failure and depression. My friend's experience is a great example of this. Since I have known her, she was always seeking for something that she didn't have and though she achieved different things during her progress, she never got the chance to enjoy them. Instead she set a new target and invested all her effort and time on the new goal. This consistent dissatisfaction feeling finally made her sick and killed her.

In conclusion, new world is imposing ample difficulties on humans and make them try hard to adjust themselves with all the changes. Plus, these fast changes are creating a situation that cause people, who desire to reach everything, feel like losers.