Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because the world is changing quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

The world has changed drastically over the last hunder year due to technological achievements. personally, i believe that nowadays people are more stressful and have anxiety driven attitudes towards their lives. I feel this way for several reasons, which i will explain in the following essay.

First of all, social media makes us more sad and crazy by comparing ourselves with our more successful counterparts. it is safe to say most people all over the world have easy access to internet. it is a good thing for information transformation and overall education for most people, but on the other hand, we tend to see beautiful locations or what our friends and people we know doing on internet. As a result, we are not satisfied with what we are and have. my personal experience is a compelling example of this. I'm a frequent user of facebook and instagram. I try to use these platforms for news and personal enjoyment, but i usually end up looking at my friends accounts and checking what they're doing. Consequently if they were traveling while i was working, i just got nervious and imagined myself as traveling or doing other stuffs. I realize the pattern that more i see other people's lives, more i am unhappy.

Secondly, modern society encourages more individually oriented lifestyle than family oriented lifestyle of previous societies. people in the past were close together with each other and their life goals were for family and their relatives. In contrast, people of today's world have better connection through technology, yet more lonely because in order to catch up the fast phase of nowadays, people have to leave their parents, friends, relatives, and lovers for pursuing their personal goals or so called growth. I think we live in the loneliest of all eras of human history. For instance, during my grandfather's youth he had many siblings and they helped with each other and had one big family goal like building huge house for including every family members even if they became adult and married. but in my era, such dream of having big house for living together with siblings sound ridiculous and unrewarding for personal growth philosophy, yet i fee loneliness because i don not feel such warmness of huge family anymore. In order to be a modern successful person, i have to study abroad leaving my parents home.

In conclusion, i am of the opinion that modern people are more unsatisfied and sad than previous generations felt. this is because social media allows us comparing ourselves with other people frequently, and because we are not family oriented anymore.