Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Boys and girls should attend separate schools. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays there are still some schools which can be attended only by female (or male) students. This is because of some conservative politics which existed in the past. While some people believe that students should attend schools which separate them by gender, others believe that boys and girls should go to the same school. In my opinion, students should attend mixed schools. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, attending mixed school makes male and female students interact one another. This is extremely important since I believe that if boys were in a school with only male people, they would not understand how to respect girls and they would eventually feel superior to the other gender. Besides, if places of instructions were not mixed, there would be no equality between sexes. For instance, some students may wrongly think: “Why girls are separated from boys at school? Are they inferior?”. Some institutions are just attended by female students since some people believe that girls have to be protected and they should not enter in contact with the other sex. I strongly disagree with that: girls and boys must attend the same school (or university). In this way, they can appreciate one another and become aware that there is no difference between sexes. We are all equal, thus we have to go to the same school.

Second, attending separate school, students become close-minded and mature. In fact, being mature means reaching a deep and wide knowledge about the world around you and be responsible for your own life. If you studied in an environment which selects only male or female students, you could not broaden your horizons and you could develop wrong and strange ideas about the other gender. For example, I have a very close friend from South Korea who studied in a female school. When I firstly met her, I recognized that she looked at me in a curious way: she thought I was flirting with her, while I was just trying to become her friend. After she recognized I was a nice person, she told me that in school she was thought that men have all sexual thought in their minds. She had wrong conceptions since her school was narrow and conservative.

All in all, this essay discussed why students have to attend mixed school. This is because boys and girls have to talk with one another and because they become more mature and open-minded.