: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Boys and girls should attend separate schools. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

School is an important part of our lives. Most countries require young people to attend by law because it’s so important. Some people believe that the best schools are either all boy schools or all girl schools while others disagree. In my view, coeducational schools provide the strongest learning environments for two important reasons.

First, children need to understand how to develop relationships with the opposite sex. School is where children learn to interact with others. If they only interact with children of the same gender, they will face difficulties in their future lives. For example, I went to coeducational schools for my whole life. This was a great experience for me because it taught me how to be comfortable with women. My history teachers often made us work in groups to write research papers. Working with each other closely eliminated any feeling of discomfort. I wouldn’t see working with another boy or a girl differently. They were my equals and I interacted with them easily. Now, as an adult, I feel that this has helped me not only in my personal relationships but in my work relationships as well. Through this, I know that coeducational schools are essential, especially for young children.

Second, coeducational schools create more diversity in the classroom. Everyone has different ways of thinking. It is easy to understand that men and women may not see the same issue the same way. Each gender develops its own unique and valuable perspective. For instance, when I was in university, I took an introductory philosophy class. The book we used was actually very interesting. It was divided into twenty chapters and each chapter asked an important question of philosophy. Then, several essays from different authors were presented. The last essay was always that of a feminist or female philosopher. These essays introduced powerful ideas that were different from the other essays, which were largely written by men. From this I learned that coeducational schools create the essential diversity that all schools should have.

In sum, students should attend coeducational schools. Not only do they help students develop a mature way to look at the opposite sex but they also create the kind of diversity that is necessary in all classrooms. Though some students may require a different kind of school for different reasons, all students should attend a coeducational school for at least some time.