Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? "Children aged 15 and above should be allowed to vote". Use specific details and examples to show why you agree or disagree.

The world is rapidly changing based on technological advancements, increased moral depravity, and important decision making heuristics. It is commendable that adolescents have been allowed to partake in activities like driving. However, I disagree with allowing them to vote early because they are just too young to make adult decisions and we could make them force our hands into letting them do things only adults could do before.

Children aged fifteen to eighteen are too young to understand the concepts needed to influence quality choices like tax-reform bills and immigration laws. Thus, politicians could play on this inexperience of theirs by making vague and vain promises just to win over these babies. For instance, a politician could promise more holidays or less tests just to sway votes to his side. These policies do not necessarily affect the country positively, however, the numbers could be in favor of such politicians. As a result, the more responsible and older voters could easily become less important and wrong policies could take center stage thus, potentially hurting a country more.

Furthermore, allowing adolescents the opportunity to vote is encouraging them to push for other age-related prohibitory laws to be reviewed. To be more specific, if children can vote, they could push for the right to drink at such tender ages. I cannot imagine the devastating consequences this would have on a nation. At such young ages, children should focus on getting the right guidance and education instead of voting and asking for other society-destroying rights and privileges. Clearly, the demerits of encouraging early voting can be disastrous.

As mentioned, our societies are getting more modern and sophisticated, however, it is better to keep the age-old tradition of restricting voting to adults as it is. Consequently, bad leaders would not be elected into power and other age-related prohibitions would not be removed for children.