Some think it is right to give beggars money on the street while others think it is wrong to do it. What is your stance on this topic? Be sure to include specific details and examples in your response.

Humanitarian actions are what define the hallmark of a person’s general kindness. To give, they say, represents the greatest love of all. We have seen super-wealthy billionaires like the Bill gates, Bezos, and the Buffets donate a significant chunk of their liquidity to charity. That is not to say there are many more unknown people who give to their most next-door neighbors without much fuss. Consequently, I think these actions are of noble motifs, however, I do not think it is advisable to bestow alms to the poor on the street because it encourages laziness and promotes plausible lies.

As the saying goes, do not give a man to fish, teach him how to fish. As cliché as that sentence sounds, it is of utmost importance that we delve a bit deeper into its significance. Giving beggars some change here and there on the street is not veritably a way of aiding them. It merely encourages them to keep begging, thereby making them lazy. We might think we are assisting them but in reality, we are suppressing their creative-thinking ability. For instance, a beggar who genuinely has the moral justification to do so may be a good sales representative in the making; for him to ask for alms is to possess good convincing skills. One could tap into this natural people-skill of his by sending him to the appropriate school. As a result, one would have invariably created a way out of economic and intellectual poverty for someone who never thought it possible. This way, one is being of help by eradicating laziness and creating a means of necessary sustenance.

Additionally, these days we have many people who impersonate by faking as beggars. How can one differentiate between a fake and a genuine beggar on the roadside? One could be giving generously to a deceitful person while the person truly in need of help gets nothing. For example, on my way back from work last week, I saw an angry mob lynching a beggar; he concealed one of his legs in his trousers by flexing the knee and fastening it to his thigh with a rope. This event left a nasty impression on my mind never to trust any beggar. I believe donating to charitable causes is a more practical way of helping because these bodies possess a more valuable experience in dealing with the needy and one is confident the money is being fictitiously unspent.

To put it briefly, helping the needy is a very selfless act to carry out, but I strongly believe learning a trade and donating to people or bodies that can manage these funds efficiently is a better way to render assistance to beggars. This way, you are being of help, but are not encouraging laziness and deceit.