Some people think that giving beggars money on the street is wrong, while others think it's right. Which idea do you support? Be sure to use specific details and examples to support your opinion.

We all feel pity when we see beggars requesting spare change on the streets. In my opinion, however, it is incorrect to give in to these feelings and supply these people with money. Ultimately, the cash could be better used for other purposes.

In the first place, the money given to beggars can be better spent on other charities. For example, five dollars may purchase a slice of pizza in a developed country. In the developing world, however, that same five dollars could purchase life-saving products, such as nets to ward off malaria, or nutrients to aid starving children. Rather than giving money to local beggars, it would be more just to save spare change during the year, eventually donating all of it to the developing world. That is where it can do the maximum amount of good. It is random that some people are close neighbors and others live far away. We owe moral obligations to people everywhere, however, because we are all human beings. For this reason, it is wrong to prefer helping local beggars rather than distant, starving strangers. We should always spend our money where it does the most good to the most people.

At the same time, giving money to beggars can encourage bad practices. It is uncertain how the money might be used. For example, it might be used to purchase drugs or alcohol. These substances will not help the beggar to improve his or her position in life. Moreover, by giving beggars money, you are perhaps not really helping them in the long run. There is an old saying that you can feed a man for one day by giving him a fish, but you can feed him for a lifetime by teaching him to fish. The reason this is relevant is that it is better to encourage beggars to seek jobs rather than supporting their state of unemployment.

Of course, some beggars are unable to find work and need help in the short term. But it is impossible to tell the difference between people who sincerely need the money and those who will misuse it, or are uninterested in finding work. For this reason, it is better to allow social services and unemployment agencies to help the needy, and to spend excess money on charities in the developing world.