Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should begin learning a foreign language as soon as they start school. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Recently, the quality of children education in school are increasedly concerned by parents. One of their concern is the curriculum. Some people argue that to master a second language is so important for future career and study that children should begin their foreign language study as soon as possible. Despite its vital position for future, I disagree with this opinion for three reasons below.

The reason why I do not acknowledge this opinion is that children who begin their study at school have more pressure than what we expect. They have just left their familiar circumstance of their family, where is fulfilled by love and concern. At home, a child is like a king or queen, and the family will provide everything what he or she need. On the contrary, a child is just one of the students at school, and students are all equal here, that is to say, the child's need is not priority than others. The child should spend a lot of time to deal with this feeling of unfamiliar. As a result, it is not priority for them to start a foreign language study because to learn another language would consume and exhaust one's mental power, which will cause their distraction from the most important issue--to get familiar with school, classmates and teachers.

Second, from my standpoint, it is crucial for children to master their mother tongue rather than another language. children who just start school are almost six to seven years old. In this age, they have not understood their first language as they need to. They should learn and pratice speaking, reading, listening and even writing skills. These tasks will be disrupted by foreign language study because each language has its own rules. Children who has not laid a good foundation on their native language will feel confused when they learn a foreign language.

To sum up, I think that it is better to start foreign language study later rather than they first start school.