Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The content of advertising in a particular country can tell you a lot about that country. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Advertisement is one of the basements of companies to sell their product, however advertisement is different according to the country. In my opinion, advertisement is another tool to gain information about the country who is broadcasting it.

First, advertising is a marketing technic for companies to promote their products which answer to a society’s need. Indeed, companies create a product or a service in order to satisfy consumers ‘need or willing otherwise the product would not be sold.

According to the country, advertisement will be more or less develop: for example, the advertisement can be broadcast through newspaper or technological device and therefore indicates the level of development of the country. Consequently, advertisement reflects the economic situation of a country.

Moreover, advertising highlights customs of country. For example, United states are an important consumer of Coca-Cola or Mc Donald’s, which reflects the habits of consumption of the population and explains why there are so many diabetic people in this country. When people are travelling abroad and they turn on TV, they can watch advertisement of a company that is also advertising in their own country. Nevertheless, the advertisement would not be the same in this foreign country because the company will have made a market study and a social survey to broadcast an advertisement that sticks to the country’s custom and behaviors.

Finally, advertisement underlines the social behaviors about a country. Indeed, advertisement development of social applications to find love which has modified the way people interact with each other shows the new social habits of a society. If people see this kind of advertisement in the street, they will know that these applications are part of the society and they will adapt their behaviors by applying a new norm.

To conclude, advertisement can afford knowledge about society’s need, economic situation of a country as well as customs and social habits of the country which is broadcasting this advertisement.