If you could study a subject that you have never had the opportunity to study, what would you choose?

When people grew up, they have to choose their job and they often leave behind subject of studies that interest them. Consequently, if i had the opportunity to study a new subject, I would choose geography for three reasons that I will detailed in the following paragraphs.

First, geography would enable me to have a better idea of the world that surrounds me and therefore be more integrated in society. For example, if I meet someone immigrating from a foreign country while I cannot locate this country on a glob, I will be lost in the discussion I won’t be able to answer and ask questions about this foreign culture. Consequently, knowing geography is a first step to be open-minded to new cultures.

Secondly, beyond a cultural benefit, learning geography allows me to broaden my vision and encouraged me to travel abroad, to discover countries, to overcome fear because it alleviates the unknown. For example, when commercial people are dealing with foreigners, they always learn the cultures and the behaviors of the country before travelling to be less stressed and worried of not knowing its habits. This subject also creates a social bond between people.

Finally, geography makes possible to understand social and political conflicts around the world and therefore helps to understand our present situation. For example, it explains wars and civil conflicts in the oriental countries. Knowing the history and the resources of countries justifies the political decisions taken. In the history, frontiers changed a lot because governmental people were greedy about resources in other countries, for example, a lot of occidental countries went in Africa to exploit their mineral resources.

As a conclusion, I would study geography if I had the opportunity in order to improve my knowledge, to create a first social bond with foreigners and to better understand the overall situation in the world.