Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I think having an extended family can make our lives happier Because you have a lot of friends, who care about you, without any effort. Especially in the past, they were very helpful in handeling different problems. But, nowadays, I think importance of extended family has decreased because of two reasons.

First, people need less each other to cooperate in different tasks. In the past, family remove their needs by themselves and there weren't facotries and companies for providing foods, clothes and other basic needs of life. For example, my paternal granfather has six boys and three daughters. The role of these children was very crutial for their family. Every one of them had a special task to do family works. My aunts were responsible for home works such as: preparing foods, cleaning, doing washing and so on. The main task of my uncles was to feed ships and take care of them and my grandfather was responsible for selling their products and buying other vital needs. So, in the past, a lot of people in a family needed for doing house tasks.

Second, the extended family were more powerful. In the past, there wasn't proper defence mechanisms for overcoming different threats. So, having a lot of relatives was vital to fight against invaders or wild animal. For example, my city was invaded by thieves for centuries and they attack families who were so weak. But my grandfather's family was too extended and they cooperate with each other to defend family. So, when thieves saw these determinded family with more numbers than them, they retreated and the family was safe for the most of time. So, extended family were very powerful for defending against threats.

In sum, I think the extended family in the past was more important than nowadays because of need in cooperating in different tasks and their more power against threats. Although extended families are imortants nowadays because they are happier families.