Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

It is suggested that the extended family loses its significance nowadays. Although it is true that we pay less attention to our distant relatives now than before, it does not mean that grandparents lose their importance to us: we still need their support to acquire and get fundamental cultural traits or ask for advice on solving a difficult situation in life.

First, needless to admit that we meet our extended family less nowadays. Probably even 30 years ago, many families lived together or at least had dinners every week. However, in the twenty-first century, it is rare that we collect even once a month. As for me, my family does not meet more than 3-5 times per year. Thus, our habits have certainly changed, but does that mean that our relatives lose the significance?

Even though we meet rarely, grandparents or uncles can give useful advice through the internet. It is not necessary to have an actual feast to communicate with your family members nowadays. As for my relatives, we always keep in touch and help each other if needed. For example, I have recently had to get a specific book for my school project, but it was not for sale in any shop, so I decided to call my grandparents to check whether they had it. Of course, they possessed the book, so I could come to take it and finish my research. Therefore, it is lies that extended family is of less importance now than before.

Thirdly, extended family members, especially older ones, are those who preserve the culture. Unfortunately, young generations are usually less concerned about saving books, films, historical documents, and other sources that build national treasure. Despite its necessity for our development, we do not pay enough attention to it, so this burden falls on the shoulders of our grandparents and, probably, aunts and uncles. If you come to their place, you can always find a lot of valuable resources, so their contribution to the culture is inestimable, and it is untrue to claim that they are less important now than before.

To sum up, it is true that we pay less immediate attention to our extended family members nowadays, but it does not mean that they lose significance. Everybody must acknowledge their immense life experience and the ability to give valuable pieces of advice, their gigantic collections of pieces of cultural treasure that are impossible to find anywhere else now, and the preservation they perform for us. Based on the above, I must disagree with the given statement.