Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

It is suggested that the extended family has lost its significance. Although it is true that we pay less attention to our distant relatives now than before, it does not mean that grandparents have lost their importance. We still need their support to acquire fundamental cultural traits or ask for advice on solving a difficult situation in life.

To start with, needless to say, that we meet our extended family less nowadays. Even 30 years ago, many families tended to live together or at least have dinners on a weekly basis. However, in the twenty-first century, it has become a rare occurrence and even monthly get-togethers are no longer common. As for my family, we hardly meet more than several times per year. Thus, our habits have certainly changed, but this does not necessarily mean that our relatives have become less significant.

Provided the extended family members meet rarely, grandparents or uncles can give useful advice through the internet. It is not necessary to have an actual feast to communicate with your family members nowadays. As for my relatives, we always keep in touch and help each other if needed. For example, I have recently had to get a specific book for my school project, but it was not for sale in any shop, so I decided to call my grandparents to check whether they had one. Of course, they did, so I could come to pick it up and complete my research. Taking this into account, we can challenge the idea that the extended family is of less importance now than before.

By the same token, extended family members, especially older ones, are those who preserve the culture. Unfortunately, young generations are usually less concerned about saving books, films, historical documents, and other sources that add to the national treasure. Despite its necessity for our development, we do not pay enough attention to it, so this burden falls on our grandparents and, probably, on aunts and uncles. If you come to their place, you can always find a lot of valuable resources, so their contribution to the culture is inestimable, and it is impossible to claim that they are less important now than before.

To sum up, it is true that we pay less immediate attention to our extended family members nowadays, but it does not mean that they have lost their value. Everybody must acknowledge their life experience and the ability to give valuable advice, their enormous collections of pieces of cultural treasure that are impossible to find anywhere else now. Based on the above, I must disagree with the given statement.