Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Indeed, in the past, people's lives were more chaste and simpler than today's people, so they may have more time to communicate with their extended families, and such a fact may mislead some impressionable individuals to generate the idea that the extended family is more significant in the past than now. However, as far as I am concerned, I tend to claim that this extended family is more important now.

In the first place, nowadays, the development of science and technology, such as cell phones, wireless communication technology, and the Internet, promote communication between members of the extended family, which helps people build strong and warm kinship. By contrast, people in the past, had few methods can be used to contact members of the extended family. Furthermore, these convenient communication methods are beneficial for family members to help each other in time. For example, a person today can quickly get needed messages from her family members through a phone call, just a few seconds. However, people in the past had to cost a half-day to finish the same thing without cell phones. Thus, it is these convenient telecommunication tools that make the extended family becomes more important now.

What is more, as the job competition becomes more and more fierce, nowadays, people gradually realize the importance of the interpersonal relationship including the relationship with extended family. Take the case of my friend Ann who wanted to buy a big house but she did not have enough money. However, her cousin Lily successfully run a company and earned a lot of money. When Lily knew that Ann lacked a part of the money to buy the house, Lily borrowed her money immediately because Lily trusted her very much. As a result, Ann succeeded in buying a big house. Had it not been for her cousin's help, she would never be able to buy this big house quickly.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that nowadays, the relationship with the extended family already becomes weak because people have no time to communicate with them in this busy society. Ironically, nowadays, the development of technology is more convenient for modern people than people in the past to communicate with their extended families, which brings more chances to build strong kinship with the extended family than people in the past.

In conclusion, based on the reasoning above, I strongly maintain that the extended family is more important now than in the past.