Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should spend more money on improving access to the Internet than on public transportation.

As the technologies evolve and create more and more windows of opportunities for the human being, the more aids are needed to build a better country for the residents. Without paying enough attention to these aids and financial matters in the country, the advancement of this territory would depend on chance. In this regard, expanding public transportation and the Internet is of more importance in the recent years. Some people are the leading proponents of the belief that improving access to the Internet is more worthwhile; others, however, take issue with the viewpoint, instead. In my perspective, I firmly contend that extending Internet services throughout the country carries more weight. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, increasing the level of information in the society is the foremost advantage of expanding Internet services in the country. To be more specific, the more information people have, the more advanced the society would be. In the recent years, people have tended to inform over diverse news surrounding them, from sports news to political ones. In this circumstances, the Internet is a significant resource to obtain up-to-date news from all over the world. In addition, the Internet is the good resource to gain unbiased news, especially political news to such an extent that plenty of politicians acquire specific news from Internet themselves. Take the election of Iran in 2009. Because the government’s rules were kind of biased towards the specific individuals, people opposed to the government's policies and were looking for a reliable way to get the appropriate news about their candidates. In addition, the different resources of news, including TV and radio, were occupied by Iran's government. As a result, the only resource of news which was reliable was the internet. Actually, the individuals have released their news and statements on the given websites, such as Facebook or Twitter. Therefore, it can be realized that by extending Internet, not only would we inform about different news, but also we can realize being credible of that news.

Secondly, by Internet services, we can easily communicate with our friends and relatives. In fact, all of us are sometimes forced to live separately from our relatives and family on different grounds. In this regard, a suitable way which we can communicate with each other is different Web sites and software like WhatsApp and Facebook which all of them are depended on the Internet connection. Actually, not only does the Internet provide ease to communicate, but also it is very cheaper than other ways of communication such as Telephone or letter. For instance, my brother and his wife is living abroad for about three years. Back then, we were in contact with each other through telephone by which we were compelled to pay a significant amount of money. In the recent year, my brother’s wife proposed to use Telegram, which is a communication software by which we can send text messages and call to our friends whenever we want. In addition, in comparison with the past, this way of communicating is more reliable, because it would not be interrupted by different issues, such as voice interruption and so forth. As you can see, improving Internet is a good way to keep people satisfied.

All in all, although improving public transportation is a necessary factor for each country and region, people are more satisfied with Internet services in the numerous way, including extending their level of information and extending their relations with their relatives and friends.