Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should spend more money on improving access to the Internet than on public transportation.

There is a great debate about whether the government should spend more money on access to the Internet or to public transportation. I believe that the latter option in many cases is the more important issue than the former one. In this essay, I will address some advantages of enjoying a developed public transportation for a city.

First of all, spending more budget on public transportation could lead to a healthy atmosphere. For example, I would prefer to use a public transportation for going to work and coming back to home if it was available. Because this is the easiest and fastest way I can reach to my workplace on-time without wasting more time. As a result, I have not to use my own personal automobiles to travel which finally caused to have a healthy atmosphere.

Next, as I mentioned in the previous paragraph, without a developed public transportation people have to use their own automobiles that would face them in some problems such as traffic. Traffic not only cause to air pollution but also put citizens in stress. For example, when I lived in Tehran two years ago, I had always stressed because I had to wake up at 4 o’clock and it took 2 hours to reach my workplace. Wasting daily 4 hours to go to work and come back to home is a great stress that a person may experience.

Last, an economic growth is possible with a developed public transportation. When a city has more factories, it needs more workers also. It can be inferred that the cities with more factories enjoy a denser population per unit than a small town which has a little number of factories. So, factories would be established around the cities when only the city has an appropriate public transportation. For example, when I was working in Tehran, at the first 1 year that I had not enough money to buy an automobile, I had experienced some problems because public transportation was not available. Such situations would encounter factories with lack of enough workers. As a result, the factories could not produce merchants with appropriate costs. Therefore, they could not keep up with other factories that can produce merchants with appropriate prices.

In conclusion, I believe that having a developed public transportation not only cause to decrease in air pollution and traffic but also cause to grow in economic. So, it is more important to be noted by the government to allocate enough money for this section.