Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Arts play an important role in a country's development and are in need of governments' sponsorship. However, compared with arts, athletics are of greater significance in a country's development. From my point of view, the government should be highly recommended to spend money on athletics, especially Olympic teams.

Reasons abound for my suggestions. Firstly, for some extremely poor countries, sponsoring athletic will gain short-term easier. For some African countries, their government revenue is quite constrained. Therefore, they need some quick paybacks. As we know, African people adept at long distance racing in Olympic games. The winners of ten thousand-meter-race are always born in Africa. So, if these governments take the advantages of their people, investing on state-sponsored Olympic teams, the good results can be seen pretty soon.

Meanwhile, sometimes sports can contribute to rise national reputation, which can hardly achieve by art. Let us take the Olympic games as an example. This wordwide sport games have more one hundred countries to join in. Its participants include some extremelly developed areas, such as the north America and the European Union. Apart from that, some underdeveloped countries are also equipped with the equal chances to compete with rich countries. They have golden opportuinities to show their strength. If a athletic from a poor country beat others and eventually win the gold medal, the whole world will keep this poor country in mind and its national awareness will be rised.

In addition, arts consist of various parts, including literature, painting, pilosophy and so on. But I don't think it is really easy to choose a specific area to sponsor. It is time consuming to do research about which fields are the main targets. Also, sponsoring art dates back to Renaissance. Some Italian artists are sposored by dukes or loyal familys. As time goes by, the artists are growing more independent in the sense that they refuse to let their works adversely affected or controlled by their sponsors' opinions. Nowadays, this trend is still going on. If government sponsor some arts, the artist might lose independent ways to express their own ideology and opinions.

In a nutshell, sponsoring athletic will bring short-term consequenses and rise the reputation all around the word. And sponsoring art do harm to artists' independent creativity. Personally, I firmly believe that sponsoring sports will be a better choice.