Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the increment of people's life standard, people are having more and more leisure time to spend on artworks. So they may think governments should spend more money to support arts rather than athletics. I disagree with this opinion. Here are my reasons.

First of all, supporting athletics can do good to raise the international status between countries. There are Olympic Games held every four years, on which people from all over the world is focusing. The more money the government spend in support of athletics such as building more stadiums or buying more facilities for athletes, the more effective the training for athletes will be. For example, China was not doing so well in Olympic Games several decades of years ago, and China also didn't have so much influence on international business and Chinese people were considered weak at that time. But the Chinese government realized the importance of athletics and began to spend more money on athletics such as building stadiums, hiring experienced coaches and equipping more facilities for the players. In the circumstance that country were attaching more importance on athletics, more and more people made a decision to become an athletes because of the high quality of training with all kinds of equipment and experienced coaches. Not so many years cost, China got the 3rd place of the Olympic Games. And in 2008, the Olympic Games was held in Beijing, which attracted many tourists and greatly raise the international status of China. So spending money on athletics can be rewarded by the increment of international status of the country.

In addition, more money spent on athletics can bring government more tax charged from people to build more public facilities. If the government spend more money on athletics matches such as improving the broadcasting technologies of the match and building or beautifying the stadium of the match, people will be more willing to spend money to watch the matches due to the great experience. For example, my uncle was not so obsessed in football games ten years ago because of the poor watching experience of the football match. But as the government improving the broadcasting technology, the audience can watch a football game from many direction on TV, which attracted my uncle. After that, my uncle would watch the football games every week and bought a lot of products about his favorite football team. In fact, not just my uncle was affected by the increment of the watching experience of football games, many people began to spend money on supporting their favorite team, which cause a big increment of economic. So the money spent on supporting athletics is going to transfer into the increment of economic.

Taking what has been discussed above into account, government spending more money on athletics rather than arts can not only bring the increment of the countries' international status but also the increment of the economic of the country.