Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Speaking of the rules for the youngsters to follow, someone believes that it is too strict for them to release their individuality. However, I think that the rules are not only reasonable, but also beneficial for young people since they can help them to control themselves and protect them from hurting themselves.

First of all, those rules can help the youngsters to control themselves. Since the young people are not mature enough to control themselves, rules that are designed for them are preventing them from making stupid mistakes. Take the rules in my school for example. At first, there was no rule to restrict the use of cellphone at class. When we were taking a class, my friend Jack who sat beside me just could not hold himself from using it to watch some interesting videos or playing games, which really distracted him from the class and the points made by the teacher. In that case, he had a great degradation on his grades. However, after the prohibition of taking cellphones into classrooms were published, he had no distraction from the class and had more attention on what the teacher is saying, in which case his grade was greatly improved. So rules can really help the youngsters to control themselves.

Secondly, rules can protect them from hurting themselves. It is widely acknowledged that alcohol is harmful to young people's physical health. It is detrimental for people to drink it at a young age, since it would cause an extreme addiction to it and a long-lasting harm to liver. For example, my uncle had drunk too much alcohol when he was young since the ban for youngsters to buy alcohol was not strictly carried out. So every week he went out with his friends and drunk too much wine, which cause damage to his liver. As for now he had a liver disease which brings him a lot of pain, which could have been avoided if the rules were strictly carried out.

Although the rule of wearing school uniforms seems strict for students. However, it is designed under the consideration of possibility of the situation that many students from different family conditions will have a bad habit of comparing with each other on wearing, which will distract them from their study and therefore have a bad influence on their grades. So even this uniform rule is reasonable for youngsters.

Taking what has been discussed above into consideration, rules that societies expect young people to follow today are not stringent. On the contrary, it helps young people in a lot of aspects.