Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Given that the dire economic circumstances in many societies, making decision about which part of the society should give more support is very challenging. Some people hold a negative perspective toward any assistance from the government for supporting artists, while others believe that sports teams don’t require additional support from the government. I subscribe to this group and I think artists deserve to get more fund.

To begin with, art could be a very great source for the whole society to alleviate their stress and anxiety by use of it. In fact, with any financial support from the government in the art works, the majority of the society even with low income would have the chance of contributing in art, which leads to a more tranquil and peaceful society. As an illustration, with the government’s help for music bands, the concerts’ tickets will cost lower than usual. As a result, everyone could afford to be in that concerts, and enjoy the live music instead of staying at home and watching music from television. This could provide a low-cost source of entertainment which is lucrative for families to have delightful moments together. This example demonstrates how it is important that the government focus in the art field, in order to have happier society.

Moreover, many private sponsors comply to support sports teams, which is beneficial for both sports team and the sponsor. In this case, the government should not consider spending money for that teams. For instance, all the football teams in my country, Iran, have a corporation to financially support them. The corporation’s logo is printed on the athlete’s shirt which is a kind of advertisement, and reciprocally they spend money for that team to thrive. The football team has received all kind of champions they need, the hotel for their practice trips, their extra cloths and so forth. Hence, there is no concern remained for the government to pay attention to.

To put it in a nutshell, I firmly believe that artists need more monetary support from the government than athletics. With more assistant given to art works, the majority of people in the society could enjoy them and release their pressures. In addition, it is not of necessitate that the government spend money for athletes because many local and private companies give the required support to the sports teams.