Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A commonly held belief is that governments are responsible to provide art facilities for people in the society to improve people's artistic accomplishment. However, some may claim that governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics. This essay holds the agreed view of the first opinion .

First of all, since art has made many attributions to human being, government really need to focus on how to protect achievements of ancient human civilization in order to let modern people understand the wisdom of the ancients, increase the sense of cultural identity.Besides, artistic cultural activities have become a part of people’s daily life, for example, not only more and more kids or students prefer to visit museums and art galleries these days but also some senior citizen. Therefore, governments should spend more money in support of arts because the government is an aggregate of the people and needs to serve them wholeheartedly.

Secondly, Art can help people relieve pressure and release the tension in their heart. In today’s fast-paced society, people need art to slow them down so that they can enjoy the beauty of nature and life. For instance, many people said that they feel relaxed when they look at Leonardo da Vinci's painting, Mona Lisa.

To conclude, governments should take active parts in support of arts rather than athletics. It is not only for the pleasant life of modern people in the society but also contribute to the future of all mankind.