Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The budget of the government is limited and the use of the budget is a critically important problem for the government. There is a hot debate on whether the government should spend more money on arts than sport or not. In my opinion, I agree with this statement. It makes me feel this way by having two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, more people focus on sports rather than the arts. To be more specific, the government should spend more money on appealing to people to pay attention to art activities. For example, my friend, Judy, is major in art in her college. She said that their art events are always lacking people. No one knows that there has an art exhibition in the gallery because people are just focusing on other things, such as sports competitions or music concerts. To solve this problem, the government should put more money in art field to help artists advertising their artworks, such as building more galleries or hold art contests to improve citizen's awareness of art.

Secondly, due to lots of people focusing on sports events, athletics might have more companies want to sponsor them. In contrast, companies don't want to sponsor artists because few people focus on arts. Therefore, companies can not receive any benefits or increase their products selling. In this case, the burden of the artists might be significant. They should afford all the stuff by themselves. If the government doesn't spend more money in support of the arts, lots of artists will have financial difficulties creating their masterpieces. At last, arts will disappear in our culture.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics. This is because people pay more attention to sports events rather than arts, the government should raise public recognition of art. Also, artists need to afford all the cost because there doesn't have any company wants to sponsor them.