Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most people would agree that the governments should both spend money on the arts and athletics. Personally, I feel this way that the governments should pay more for the latter than the former which I will explore more in the following essay.

First, the possible revenue could be huge when the governments funding international sports competitions like the Olympic games. Take 2021 Olympic games for example. Though the pandemic hit Japan seriously, and the public questioned the government, still the government decided to hold the Olympic games for the broadcast authorization fee and other possible revenue. The are many attracting factors for the governments to hold sports competitions and the revenue can be used to build infrastructures and the well-being belongs to the public.

Moreover, the athletes' daily expenditure is usually too high to afford without companies or the government's help. For instance, professional medical care and athletic trainers are crucial for full-time sports players. Without funding, the potential talented athletes could be destroyed by reality and daily needs. There are many stories about the famous sports players that how financial problems obstructed them when they were not famous yet. Since we only know the already famous sports players' stories, there must have more athletes have financial problems and were forced to stop their dreams. The governments should spend more money to the help young, not famous athletes to develop their career.

Furthermore, the career life span of the athletes are usually shorter than the artists and most jobs. As young as thirty, however, is the proper time for badminton, basketball, baseball players to retire. Those sports players spend their time on the sport field and may not have other competitive skills to fit in the society after retirement. It is the governments' responsibility to take care of those athletes who play sports games in the name of their countries.

In conclusion, since the uniqueness of the athletes' professional needs and the various way to earn huge money through holding international athletic competitions, the governments should put more money on the athletics than the arts.