Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Without a shadow of a doubt, arts and sports are two essential entertainment pillar industries upon the development of the economy. A glance at people's attitude towards the government investment brings to a light question that has been asked several times, namely, should the government spend more money in support of arts, or athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Were I forced to choose, I would prefer the latter point of view to the former one and I will thoroughly elaborate on what rationale my perspective is based on.

The first reason worth mentioning is sports industry is more powerful in boosting economic growth. To illustrate more, compared with arts, sports is more attractive and suitable for the public, which means they can be more aware of the existence of an athletic team rather than an art organization. Simultaneously, a state-sponsored sports team can either attract more investments in public fitness programs or be wholesome to generate the honor of being a citizen in this unique city. Take the example of OKC Thunder, an NBA basketball team as a compelling example. As the only sports team of 4 major alliances in the city, Thunder's tickets are on the brink of being sold out every game day. More than 20 thousand citizens gather together to cheer not only for this team but also for their city's spirit. As a result of Thunder's success, many programs which are the name of it had been flourish in this city, which brought hundreds of jobs and contributed to the growth of the economy.

Another reason that I hold this opinion is that a state-sponsored team can be a business card on behalf of the city. There is numerous famous sports team which are located in some really small cities, and the way people from all over the world get to know these cities is to be familiar with those sports team. According to this propagation, a sports team can attract uncountable tourists to visit the city where it lives, and bring tourism revenue and promote cultural communication in the same vein.

A voice arises that investing in the art industry may be a better choice because it seems more profitable than the sports industry because some sports teams can not make both ends meet. However, this claim needs to be scrutinized meticulously. In fact, the sports market is much more mature than the art market, which means it can be managed more efficiently and easily. Sports groups like NBA, NFL, MBL are all successful examples that effectively illustrate the successful operation of a sports team. On the other side, some investments in arts may not be as successful as in sports, for some genres are so obscure for the public to understand.

In conclusion, drawing upon the reasons I have mentioned above, I think governments should spend more money in support of athletics. While there are one thousand Hamlets in one thousand people's eyes, I believe my opponents will yield upon after being shown to my article.