Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

As art and sport are both very important pieces of our society and governments are obliged to support them. There have been discussions about whether governments should put their funding more towards the development of art or sport. Some people urge that more money should be put in to support art related industries and public sections.

it is true that art, as the practice of human creativity and cultural communication, can not only boost intellectual and cultural development of the nation, but also bring with substantial economic benefits, for example, the tremendous profit booming movie industry, or the huge revenue generated from popular music concerts. However, in my opinion, it is still more beneficial for government to lean more towards support for athletics, because it has been proven by facts that development of sports industries and causes has much bigger economic profits, as well as much widely influences on general public.

First, more support in sports can create greater economic benefits. Nowadays, operations of sports causes are no longer non-profitable. On the contrary, sports have become more and more industrialized and commercialized. industrialized sport causes have the potential to stimulate economic growth of many different industries. like the famous national football League (nfl) of and national Basketball Association (NBA), both host commercial sport events on a national scale. such industrialized operation involves great volume and variety of economic interactions with other participates of the market. For example, in the operation of nfl games, contractors are needed to insure the construction and maintenance of football stadiums, media companies are involved for on-air coverage and advertisements, manufacturers of different sectors are also brought in to provide numerous kinds of nfl name-brand products, like uniforms and souvenirs…etc. All those activities have generated huge revenue and great amount of job opportunities, and they are all triggered by a single sport business. In this case, if government can take advantage of such trend, put more money to support the development of sports industries, it can for sure promote bigger economic growth in all connecting industries.

Second, governments support in sports can stimulate its people to pursue healthier lifestyles. On one hand, apart from any final effect of implementation, government behaviors have direct influence on people’s value choice, a government focus on support of sports sends out a strong signal to general public to encourage people to participate more in sports activities. On the other hand, government fund can be used to improve sports infrastructures and facilities in communities. With more spaces, better conditions and more varieties, people can enjoy sports in a more convenient yet interesting way.

In conclusion, I think it is more advantageous for the government to put in more money to support sports.