Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

have you ever taken a look at international crude oil price? do you know what global collaborations we have addressing the issue of global warming? Or Did you hear that a few weeks ago the leader of ISIS had just been killed? …While many of us do pay close attention to what happens around the world, some might still wonder: why should I care about things that do not have effects in my day-to -day life? In my opinion, it is always necessary to keep aware of what happens in today’s world, as this is very beneficial in many ways, few are as below.

First, knowing global events helps us to predict and prepare for changes that could happen in our own area. Nowadays, it is unlikely for any region to be totally separate from the rest of world. The trend of unified international economy and politics has brought connections between countries and areas closer and closers. As a result of chain reaction, things happen in a far away place might have effect in your home city. if we pay attention to those events, we can think into what could happen to our own area and effect our life, so we can react correspondingly. For example, with the tightened trade policy between us and Chinese government, manufacturers of exported and imported good are largely effected, some companies in these sections ended up downsize their employment, if a worker of such company would’ve learnt about the situation at its early stage, such consequence would be predictable, then he/she would be able to prepare ahead of time, like saving more money in the event of losing the job or starting looking for jobs in other fields.

On the other hand, even for events that are not likely to spread far enough to affect our life, they can still provide a referral for our decision-making. just like learning from our own history, learning from other country or area’s mistakes can prevent us from making the same mistakes. For instance, in 2008, before the bubble burst, us real estate marketing were showing patterns like high mortgage rate with high transaction rates along with other indicating features, this is a valuable adverse case for us to look at when looking into bubbles of our own local housing marking.

Last, learning about events around world helps us to keep open-minded. The process of looking into world beyond our own small world its self presents a wonderful opportunity for us to input new information into our brain. To process all those unfamiliar incidences, all the changing situations, to think through why things are happening in the way they are, we have to train ourselves to think outside what we’ve already known, to keep open-minded.

In conclusion, I think it is important to pay attend to events happening in the world, and everyone can be benefited from it.