Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Citizens are always concerned about how their governments use the revenue and they have the right to do so. Recently, there have been a heated debate on governments are supposed to spend more their budget on the area of arts or athletics. Personally, I believe athletics outweighs the arts, especially considering the following reasons.

To begin with, the fund on sports are more effective to arose people\'s national pride than that of the arts. Seeing the Olympic team from their own countries win gold medals will definitely enhance citizens\' national pride. But the process of winning the championship can be very tough, requiring not only the hard training of athletes but also the strong support from their teams. The strong support, however, needs a large amount of money, which is unbearable for an individual or a private organization. Therefore, it is undoubtedly their governments\' responsibility to offer the money, or the pursuit of winning gold medals would just be a dream. In contrast, although art works are also able to fulfill this goal, the process is just much more unpredictable than that of athletics. This is because the evaluation of art works bases more on culture, which is different in different countries. However, the standard of sports competition is much simpler; whoever wins the first place gets the championship. Thus, if a government wants to strengthen the national pride of its people, giving more fund on athletics is certainly more effective.

Furthermore, allocating more budget on athletics can inspire the public to participate in taking exercise, which is beneficial to their health condition. Nowadays, as the technology of Internet develops rapidly, people tend to fall in the sedentary lifestyle, which has actually weaken their physical health. In order to change this situation, authorities should come up with some solutions. When people see the sportsmen from their countries win international matches, some of them will be motivated to take part in sports events. For instance, it is the great success of the Chinese table tennis that make Chinese citizens be more enthusiasitic on joining table tennis activities. In recent decades, it can be seen that people are playing table tennis almost everywhere in China, which should be attributed to the outstanding performance of the Chinese national team of table tennis.

In a nutshell, with these factors above, I insist that authorities should spend more money to support athletics.