Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Making a decision is sometimes a hard work, especially for the youngsters as their choices might influence their whole life. Recently there is a heated debate on whether young people depend less on their parents to make decisions for them than they did in the past. Personally, I believe it is true, especially when young people decide their future career and marriage.

To begin with, youngsters now can make better decisions on their future career than their parents do. It is widely accepted that decades ago it is parents that made the job plan for their children thoroughly because parents believed that they were more experienced and they could avoid some mistakes. However, with the rapid development of society, young people have gained much more ability to get access to a variety of information, which leads to the result that they have the better knowledge of the world and its trend than their parents do. At the same time, youngsters today are also smarter than youngsters in the old time by facing the more colorful world; thus they know themselves better. Take my cousin Tom as an example. He has been interested in news reporting since he was very young. Every time he heard the news on TV began, he just rushed in front of TV and watched the whole program. Therefore, when he had to decide the college major, although his parents tried hard to persuade him to choose some science-related fields, he selected the major of journalist without hesitation. At that time, he told me in private that he believed that this major fitted him better and he could do it well. Finally, he successfully became a professional journalist, receiving many awards and a great reputation. Had he listened to his parents\' advice, he would not be so successful.

Furthermore, young people know more profoundly on whom they want to marry rather than let their parents make the decision. In China, the decision of marriage was mostly made by parents in quite a long period because of the Chinese tradition; young people at that time were also willing to do so as they had no idea who they like. But today Chinese young people understand the importance of the freedom on marriage, making them more preferable to pursue the true love rather than to solely satisfy their parents. As a result, it turns out that young people are better able to enjoy their lives after the marriage instead of dealing with endless conflicts.

In a nutshell, with these factors above, I strongly claim that young people can make better decisions on their own when they face the crucial situation.