Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parents are always eager to see their children behave well and get high grades in school. In order to achieve this, some parents would give their children money when children get high marks. However, I do not think it is a good idea. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, giving young students money for their high grades will make them confused with the actual aim of studying well. In fact, people who attend schools should be aimed at learning knowledge and skills which will be used in their life. That is to say, students should pursue high grades to obtain knowledge more completely and comprehensively. However, the money given by their parents will exert adverse effect on them as they might think that money is the final goal. This misunderstanding could lead to some unwanted consequences. Take my little cousin Tom as an example. His father, i.e. my uncle, awarded Tom 20 dollars every time he got an A in the examination, assuming that Tom would be inspired and be more hard-working. Nevertheless, things were not the same as my uncle imagined. With the desire of money, Tom began to learn cheating in the examination as he knew that he would get the money whenever he got the A grade. Unfortunately, he was caught by the teacher during a final exam, which drove my uncle really mad. Tom\'s experience, I believe, is not the sole example. Youngsters will probably be misled by the money and go astray.

Furthermore, if children were always treated like this, they are likely to become money-oriented, which will do harm to their future. In other words, if they were not granted money for doing certain things, they will just refuse to begin. It can also be reflected by Tom\'s experience. After the cheating, my uncle stopped offering Tom money for anything, which made Tom lose all his energy. As a result, whatever his parents asked him to do, he just refused quickly without any consideration. He told me privately that he was not interested in anything but money. You see, this is the consequence of granting money to children for their own responsiblities.

In a nutshell, with these two reasons above, I strongly believe that this is not a proper way for encouraging children to study.