Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Novel stuffs are always appealing to youngsters, therefore the rapidly developing technology can also be accepted by them more quickly. However, people have a heated debate on whether technology has cut down children\'s creativity. Personally, I believe it is true, especially considering their blindly following the trend and overly relying on online resources.

To begin with, young people often blindly follow the popular trend, which makes them less creative. By stating the popular trend, we usually mean some heatedly-mentioned words, some interesting pictures and some top rated short videos. Nowadays, as the Internet and electronic gadgets are much more accessible than ever before, children are able to know the popular trend more smoothly. While their minds are not mature enough, children tend to regard whatever in the trend as the coolest things and memorize them more deeply. When their minds are full of these, it is unlikely that they can be creative any more. Take my little cousin Tom as an example. He has been granted an iPad to watch everything he likes, which triggers him be familiar with the trend. This results in the fact that he no longer uses appropriate words to express himself, but rather says something strange instead. For instance, if he wants to say "laugh out loudly" and "as soon as possible", he would like to use the abusive abbreviate form "LOL" and "ASAP", which always confuse his family members. However, when it comes to writing a proper essay, Tom often finds himself failed to finish it because these so-called cool words have occupied his mind, which deprives him of his creativity. Tom\'s experience has reveal the source of such a shortage of creativity.

Furthermore, the convenience of acquiring information online has led to children\'s overly reliance on it, which ruins their creativity. That is to say, the eaiser to get the information one needs, the less effort one would pay to think. As children can find the certain information from the Internet with just a few clicks on the mouse, they are inevitably get accustomed to this easy way so as to lose creativity. For example, in the past if a child wanted to solve a math problem, he or she might have to try many methods through which the creativity would be cultivated. Nevertheless, today children facing the same situation will just directly write a post on the website and get the right answer in no time. It is the fastest way to solve the problem but it is such a quick solution that makes children rely heavily on it as well as abandon thinking independently. In this way, the creative ability is undoubtedly weakened.

To sum up, with these factors above, I strongly insist that technology has made youngsters behave less creatively.