Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Governments' funding, the money from annual taxes, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion over whether governments should spend more money to support the arts or athletics. Spending more money in support of the arts, in many people's views, should be advocated. Contrary to these people's opinion is my perspective that governments should spend more money to support the athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams, due to the contributions to people's personal qualities and skills.

What must be prioritized is that spending more money on athletics, instead of costing funding to support the arts, is beneficial to people's personal qualities, by teaching them more persisting and independence. Initially, it is athletics that offers people the importance of persisting. To be more specific, by watching the athletes' industrious preparation, people can acquire the invaluable quality of persisting, helping them to overcome straits in the future; in contrast, such important qualities can not be obtained when they are appreciating the arts. Moreover, never can we ignore the significance of athletics to people's independent quality. To explain it further, by learning about the athletes' competition with others, people will find it more indispensable to be independent, in that way they will be more competitive to work or study. On the other hand, will they be more independent when seeing the arts?

What is equally worth discussing is that costing funding to support athletics, rather than helping the arts, can promote people's personal skills, by strengthening their interpersonal skills and teamwork skills. To begin with, it is well acknowledged that appreciating athletes' competitions can improve people's interpersonal skills. Specifically, by watching more interviews about great athletes, people can learn how to communicate with each other better; on the contrary, under no circumstance will they gain a better understanding of interpersonal skills if they are skimming the arts in the museum. Furthermore, when having a deeper comprehension of athletics, people will become more adept in teamwork skills. In detail, the more sports they participate in, the more interactions they will involve in, stimulating them to foster their cooperation and improve social capability; however, it is impossible for them to get better teamwork skills when making paintings.

Personal qualities, the foundation of people's future development, will be boosted when they learn more about athletics. Personal skills, essential contributors to people's future success, will be facilitated, if they participate more in athletics. In conclusion, only by spending more money to support athletics, instead of costing funding for the arts, can governments help people to reap numerous benefits.