Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Should governments spend more money supporting art or athletics? Some enthusiasts of arts may contend that art requires more government investments; however, after weighing the influence of athletic events and the artistic counterparts, one will clearly identify that athletics is the option that governments should support with funds. Here are the reasons.

To begin with, more people are into athletics than arts, which implies that supporting athletics could potentially bring satisfaction to a greater population. If we look at the amount of people crammed into each major league baseball game and compare it to the amount of people in an art gallery, we can clearly see that there are much more people enthusiastic about sports than arts. Therefore, if government invest in athletics, such as paying for more teams to play, more people can benefit from the investment.

On the other hand, supporting the more popular athletics, as opposed to the less popular arts, could mean more revenue for the government. The Australian Open of professional tennis, for example, is attended by tennis fans around the world each year. And while these fans are there, they need a place to stay, some food to eat, and a few souveniors to take back home. Tens of thousands of these tourists would bring a considerable amount of economic boost in the area, which in turns benefits the government which collects taxes on all purchases.

Nevertheless, supporters of arts would contend that arts intrinsically receive less attention from the public, thus it requires support from the government. Another perspective to this is that art is less in demand; therefore, less emphasis should be placed upon it. In economics, there is the supply and demand theory which states that the supply will naturally rise in a free market when the demand for an item increases. If the demand for art is low, the supply of art would naturally be low. Any government interference to this established natural balance would not be wise.

All in all, it can be clearly identified that supporting athletics is the better choice for government. By sponsoring athletics, the government brings more joy to the citizens and earn itself more tax income. If the government were to use funds on arts, it should be commensurate with the demand of arts itself. Therefore, until arts becomes more popular than athletics, governments should spend more money in support of athletics.