Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Governments have a huge amount of money that they collected from taxes. That money should be used for the benefit of the population. The most important question here is, how the government should spend this money? should they spend it on the arts or on sports? In my opinion, all governments should spend money on sports for many reasons, such as sports encourage people to live a healthy lifestyle, spread peace and represent the countries in international competitions.

First, sports encourage people to be healthy and that will help them to do better in their jobs. Sports help people to do more activities that will help people to become more healthy and reduce the risk of many diseases such as heart attacks and obesity. As an example, if our Government in Egypt will support running marathons in Cairo that will encourage people to take part in these marathons. A year ago I was on a tour in Aswan, there was a marathon funded and supported by Aswan`s Government. Many people took part in this event, I saw Aswan governor himself and many people who work in leadership roles in the government. The governor was encouraging citizens and tourists to take part in this huge event. There were many television channels broadcasting this event because it supports and raises funds for Professor Magdi Yacoub Heart Foundation, Also to encourage people to live a healthy life to reduce the risk of heart diseases. This event had a huge impact, this year the ministry of health has done an obesity test for all Egyptians. With no doubt, Aswan Governorate scored the less percentage of obesity and people who work in the government are the healthiest among all Egyptians. So, it is obvious, that sports are important. Sports will help both citizens and the government.

Second, Sports spread peace and represent countries in international competitions. During international competitions, you can see all countries` flags beside each other even if there is a war between a country and its neighbor. You may see two teams forget the war and are hugging and congratulating each other. For instance, I remember a football match that took place in the 2010 Football World Cup in Paris, France between Egypt and Israel. All people know that there was a war between Egyptians and Israelis. This war ended in 1973, but unfortunately, people never forget this war. However, During the match, both teams were respecting each other and doing their best to win, wave their flag and represent their mother country. Both teams got the same score, so there was no winner. After the match, the two teams hugged and congratulated each other for these scores and forgot that there was a horrific war between Egypt and Israel. So it is clear that sports such as football spread peace between countries.

Finally, Sports have a crucial role in our lives. Without sports, we will be unhealthy and that will affect the governments, also there will always be war and hate.