Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Governments have a huge amount of money. They collect that money from taxes. The collected money should be beneficial for citizens. The question here is, What is more beneficial for both citizens and the government? Should they spend the money on improving Internet access or they should spend the money on improving public transportation? In my opinion, The government should invest the money in the development of public transportation and its infrastructure for various reasons, such as decreasing the number of accidents and stopping the traffic jam and increasing the government income.

First, Investing money in the development of public transportation is crucial. the development will lead to a noticeable decrease in the number of accidents and death rate. As an example, In Egypt in 2014 the government started a project to develop and fix all the roads and bridges all over the country. The government started to develop infrastructure and public transportation in the biggest city in Egypt. Cairo is the capital and the biggest city that has the greatest number of accidents and the highest death rate. So, the Government started by developing the Ring road that connects the capital with all the neighbor cities. They fixed all the cracks then started to build a new bridge beside it. After that, the government started to use buses that use electric power. As a result, in a recent study, the death rate and accidents were reduced. So developing both public transportation and infrastructure is very important.

Second, when the country develops public transportation, that will lead to less traffic jam and it will benefit all citizen. For instance, When Egypt Started to develop roads and bridges that impacted all people who work away from their houses. People who live in the capital travel every day for about three to four hours to reach their jobs because there is a traffic jam. But after the development people started to reach their jobs earlier and they stopped wasting their time in traffic. So, it is clear that the development is very important.

Finally, it is obvious that public transportation development has a crucial impact on citizens and the government.