Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

This has been a controversial debate on whether the government should spend more money in support of arts than is the support of athletics. As far as I am concerned, I agree with this statement, as I believe that art plays a dominant role in society. Arts not only fulfill the mental requirements of people but also can solve many problems in society.

To begin with, people need to fulfill their mental requirements. Nowadays, life is so stressful for people. Regarding their age, people are under big pressure to do their tasks to avoid its consequences. Stress can predispose people to mental and physical diseases. To release their stress people need to spend time in a quiet and stress-free atmosphere. Different types of art exhibition can provide this atmosphere for people. Visiting a painting or sculpture exhibition, visiting museums are exciting for people. Visiting different kinds of arts not only enable them to release their stresses and tiredness but also provides an opportunity for them to appreciate art. When it comes to me, I always like to visit carpet exhibition. Visiting different exhibition departs me from daily routine life. It is so relaxing for me because I can appreciate the beauty of art without thinking about my troubles.

Moreover, the government can solve many problems of society through art. In this case, different types of movies can present social problems. Increasing the awareness of people about social problems can solve many problems. For example, representing a movie about divorce and consequences of divorce on children may cause to decrease of divorce. Besides, people can learn lots of things from movies. For instance, people can become familiar with different cultures and traditions all over the world. Therefore movies can broaden the horizon of people. In my case, watching American movies helped me to improve my linguistic skills which were very useful for me in university.

On the other hand, donating money on art does not mean that the government should decrease the budget of sports teams. As like as art, all sports activities are exciting for people. Sports activities and sports matches can provide health and excitement to people. However, sports teams can find personal sponsors and there is no need for them to earn their money from the government.

In conclusion, I believe that spending money on art is indispensable for the government as funding money would fulfill the mental requirements of people and solve many social problems. However, I cannot deny the importance of sports activities for the community.