Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that nowadays, governments' policies play a pivotal role in determining on what area and how

much most activities get funds. In fact, governments are in charge of allocating resources, including financial

resources, among most national activities, two of which are supporting arts and supporting athletics such as statesponsored

Olympic teams. Between these two, some people are inclined to the idea that governments should

spend more money in support of the arts by taking measures such as setting up museums and art galleries.

However, I am personally of the opinion that supporting athletics, especially national teams, should be of a higher

priority for the governments to invest in. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most conspicuous

reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The most significant reason why I believe governments should spend more money on supporting athletics is the

fact that these athletes are invaluable role models for the younger generations. National athletic competitions are

usually shown on TV, and most of the people including children tend to watch these games. Meanwhile, children

are always under the influence of adults who are doing something significant in a way. In particular, if a child

observes an athlete who wins a game and gets a medal in an international competition, she will probably imagine

herself as she is playing on that field or arena, and gets that medal. what's interesting is that it is likely that she

imagines herself doing all the exercises and putting in the required intense efforts to achieve such a position,

which is what I believe promotes a healthy lifestyle, both in terms of health and the effects of sports on body and

mind, and in teaching a person to persevere and work diligently in order to achieve her goals. The child learns from

her early ages that the more persistently someone works to reach her goals, the more the possibility of her

winning will become.

Another noteworthy reason to bear in mind is that national competitions, in which athletes from numerous

countries participate, are one of the most influential areas on a person's pride upon her country. As a matter of fact, when a person sees her country winning medals and their national anthem played in stadiums, where

international events are taking place and countless people from all over the world are watching it, they can't help but feel proud about their country. This pride not only evokes desirable feelings in people, but also it binds the people of a country together, and makes them feel closer to each other. For instance, when I was a child, our national soccer team won a very proficient team in the World Cup. I remember all the people were so happy that they were gathering in streets and juststreets, just congratulating each other, and celebrating the victory which we all were all commonly sharing pride upon. I remember both the happiness and the close relationship between people of my country, as if their previous conflicts had all gone to waste.

Finally, contemplating all the aforementioned remarks, we safely reach the conclusion that governments should

spend more money on supporting athletics rather than arts.