Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
There is no doubt that nowadays, the underlying structures of societies have changed drastically
compared to the past. As a matter of fact, most people believe that the existing rules that today
societies force on the youth are overly strict. Although some people believe that young people have
more freedom than their parents had, I personally think that the rules that young people are expected
to follow today are too stringent. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most conspicuous
reasons and examples justifying my point of view.
The most significant reason coming to mind is the fact that as civilizations thrived, some certain norms
appeared which every individual was somehow obliged to conform to/comply with. In fact,
contemporary world contains countless norms and standards imposed on people, and each person is
required to behave according to them. Actually, this exerts a tremendous amount of pressure and stress
on people, especially young people who at the same time face lots of peculiar issues too. Not only do
these norms bring about numerous liabilities and responsibilities which are hard to fulfill, but also they
cause stress and mental illnesses. For instance, in my country, girls are mandated by law to wear
especial clothes since a very young age. However, this is not what all of the young girls want, and it can
really be tough for them to tolerate the heat and inconvenience of wearing such clothes all the time, so
this rule is highly strict on them.
Another equally noteworthy reason to bear in mind is concerned with this fact that nowadays, because
of the widespread use of social networks, people are rubbed robbed of their privacy, which, I believe, is
one of the most primary rights of any human being. In particular, social networks like Instagram and
Facebook, which allow for sharing photos and videos, pose a threat to everyone in terms of security and
privacy because now everyone should be careful not to make any mistakes because if they do, everyone
will know of their mistakes owing to the fast diffusion of news and photos in these platforms. This, I
believe, leads to stress, anxiety, and even depression, particularly in young people/the youth. Actually,
results of a study conducted on a group of people aging aged 18 to 30, which I have recently read an
article about, indicate that the more a person engages in social networks, the more stressed out he gets.
This is actually one of the most crucial traits of our contemporary society that it imposes strict rules and
norms on the youth.
To summarize, contemplating all the aforementioned remarks, we safely reach the conclusion that
nowadays the rules that societies expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.