Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion."

Many people think that it is a bad idea for students to have grades evaluation. While some of them believe that grades can improve students’ knowledge and performance at school, I hold the opposite view. I think students would learn batter if they do not have grade evaluation.

To begin with, grades system at schools’ limits student’s passion to learn. It allows them to study only to get a good grade and ignoring the main goal of school which is improve student’s knowledge. Students with this grade system process tend to study only when the exam approach, then, they forget everything after finishing the exam. For example, when I was at intermediate school, I did not study at all during the whole semester because I knew that I will get a good grade if I just study two days before the exam. Therefore, I used to get perfect grade with only memorizing the subject but without any full understanding of the topic. Obviously, this grade system kills the passion of learning in me because I used to study for grade only.

Adding to the previous point, grade systems at school enable students to be under stress most of the time. This stress makes it difficult for students to learn and get more information. A great teacher of main once told me that students are better at school when they are away from any stress condition. They can accept more information when they are relaxed and calm. In Japan, the government tends to give students yoga exercise to decrease the level of stress in most students. So, they can improve their understanding of most subjects. Apparently, grade system forces students to be under pressure through whole semester.

In conclusion, I encourage schools to ban the grade evaluation system from schools. This is because it limits students thinking, and it allows them to be under stress all the time, so they do not perform well in school.